sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
2004 World Fantasy Award Nominations
Review by Ernest Lilley
Date: /

Nominees for the 2004 World Fantasy Awards have been announced. The winners, to be selected by a five-judge panel, will be announced at an awards banquet on Sunday, October 31st at the World Fantasy Convention, in the Tempe Mission Palms Hotel, Tempe, Arizona. The nominees are:

Best Novel:
K. J. Bishop, :The Etched City (Prime)
Kij Johnson, :Fudoki (Tor)
Ian R. MacLeod, :The Light Ages (Ace)
Jeff VanderMeer, :Veniss Underground (Prime)
Jo Walton, :Tooth and Claw (Tor)

Best Novella:
Simon Clark & Tim Lebbon, Exorcising Angels (Earthling)
Jeffrey Ford, "The Empire of Ice Cream" (Sci Fiction)
Greer Gilman, "A Crowd of Bone" (Trampoline, Small Beer)
Glen Hirshberg, "Dancing Men" (The Dark, Tor)
Kelly Link, "The Hortlak" (The Dark, Tor)

Best Short Fiction:
Charles de Lint, "A Circle of Cats" (Viking)
Maureen F. McHugh, "Ancestor Money" (Sci Fiction)
Alex Irvine, "Gus Dreams of Biting the Mailman" (Trampoline, Small Beer)
Chris Roberson, "O One" (Live Without a Net, Roc)
Bruce Holland Rogers, "Don Ysidro" (Polyphony 3, Wheatland)

Best Anthology:
Jack Dann, Ramsey Campbell & Dennis Etchison, eds., : Gathering The Bones (Voyager Australia, Voyager UK, Tor US) Ellen Datlow, ed., :The Dark: New Ghost Stories (Tor)
Kelly Link, ed., :Trampoline: an anthologyTrampoline: an anthology (Small Beer)
Rosalie Parker, ed., :Strange Tales (Tartarus Press - out of print)
Jeff VanderMeer & Mark Roberts, eds., :The Thackery T. Lambshead Pocket Guide to Eccentric & Discredited Diseases (Night Shade)

Best Collection:
Jack Cady for :Ghosts of Yesterday (Night Shade)
Elizabeth Hand for :Bibliomancy (PS Publishing)
Glen Hirshberg for :The Two SamsThe Two Sams (Carroll & Graf)
George R. R. Martin for :GRRM: A RRetrospective (Subterranean)
Michael Marshall Smith for :More Tomorrows & Other Stories (Earthling)

Best Artist:
Donato Giancola
John Jude Palencar
John Picacio
Jason Van Hollander

Special Award, Professional:
Peter Crowther for PS Publishing
John Howe & Alan Lee for artwork in The Lord of the Rings
Kelly Link & Gavin Grant for Small Beer Press
Sharyn November for Firebird Books
David Pringle for Interzone and service to the field
Sean Wallace for Prime Books

Special Award, Non-Professional:
Deborah Layne & Jay Lake for Wheatland Press
Paul Miller for Earthling Publications
Ray Russell & Rosalie Parker for Tartarus Press
Dave Truesdale for Tangent Online
Rodger Turner, Neil Walsh & Wayne MacLaurin for

Return to Index

We're interested in your feedback. Just fill out the form below and we'll add your comments as soon as we can look them over. Due to the number of SPAM containing links, any comments containing links will be filtered out by our system. Please do not include links in your message.

© 2002-2017SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make SFRevu possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2017SFRevu