sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
Arkham Detective Agency - A Lovecraftian-Noir Tribute to C.J. Henderson
Edited by Brian M. Sammons
Cover Artist: M. Wayne Miller
Review by Sam Tomaino
Dark Regions Press Paperback  ISBN/ITEM#: 9781626412569
Date: 26 November 2017

Links: Publisher's Book Page / Show Article /

From official release/information:

Book Description: Strong-jawed private eyes face off against unknowable ancient evil in Lovecraftian-noir horror. No fainting librarians here; these are tough, capable heroes. And while they may survive their encounters with cosmic evil to fight another day, a terrible price is always paid. Friends are lost, relationships are destroyed, minds are broken. With scars both mental and physical, these champions will get only the briefest of respites before having to rise again to face the next challenge. Knowing that only death or madness will bring their fighting to an end, they nevertheless continue to wage war against the forces of the Cthulhu Mythos. What other choice do they have? This is the world created by author C.J. Henderson who gave readers such modern-day pulp heroes as Jack Hagee, Teddy London, Piers Knight, and his most recent creation: Frank Nardi, former N.Y.C. detective, now head of the Arkham Detective Agency. Before C.J. Henderson’s untimely death, many weird fiction authors were invited to this book to play in his world of stoic P.I.s, beautiful dames, and horrible monsters. We are thrilled to bring you the four Frank Nardi stories C.J. finished before his death, and all-new stories set in H.P. Lovecraft’s modern-day witch- haunted town of Arkham.

Contents: Introduction: It's Okay to Meet Your Heroes by Brian M.Sammons, The Idea of Fear by C.J. Henderson, Cruelty by C.J. Henderson, The Nest of Pain by C.J. Henderson, Slaves for the Slaughter Sect by Robert M. Price, Call and Response by William Meikle, Miskatonic Contradance by Konstantine Paradias, Family Tradition by Edward Morris, Light a Candle, Curse the Darkness by Paula R. Stiles, Il Segno Giallo by David Dunwoody, Echoes of a Distant Scream by Lee Clark Zumpe, Closure by Glynn Owen Barrass, Witch Fire by Scott T. Goudsward, Bonanza by Sam Gafford, Reeling Back by Tom Lynch, Those Folk Below by Josh Reynolds, She Wore a Trench Coat by Don Webb, Clear the Air by Brian M. Sammons, A Walk in the Shadows by Joseph S. Pulver, Sr., and The Pleasure in Madness by C.J. Henderson.

(Source: Dark Regions Press)

Return to Index

We're interested in your feedback. Just fill out the form below and we'll add your comments as soon as we can look them over. Due to the number of SPAM containing links, any comments containing links will be filtered out by our system. Please do not include links in your message.

© 2002-2018SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make SFRevu possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2018SFRevu