sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
2008 - Hugo Nominations Announced
Date: 21 March 2008

Links: Denvention3 /

Denvention3, the 66th World Science Fiction Convention has announced the 2008 Hugo Nominees.

Best Novel

(For rest of list)

Best Novella

    "Fountains of Age" by Nancy Kress (Asimov's July 2007)
    "Recovering Apollo 8" by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Asimov's Feb. 2007)
    "Stars Seen Through Stone" by Lucius Shepard (F&SF July 2007)
    "All Seated on the Ground" by Connie Willis (Asimov's Dec. 2007; Subterranean Press)
    "Memorare" by Gene Wolfe (F&SF April 2007)

Best Novelette

    "The Cambist and Lord Iron: a Fairytale of Economics" by Daniel Abraham (Logorrhea ed. by John Klima, Bantam)
    "The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate" by Ted Chiang (Subterranean Press; F&SF Sept. 2007)
    "Dark Integers" by Greg Egan (Asimov's Oct./Nov. 2007)
    "Glory" by Greg Egan (The New Space Opera, ed. by Gardner Dozois and Jonathan Strahan, HarperCollins/Eos)
    "Finisterra" by David Moles (F&SF Dec. 2007)

Best Short Story

    "Last Contact" by Stephen Baxter (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction, ed. by George Mann, Solaris Books)
    "Tideline" by Elizabeth Bear (Asimov's June 2007)
    "Who's Afraid of Wolf 359?" by Ken MacLeod (The New Space Opera, ed. by Gardner Dozois and Jonathan Strahan, HarperCollins/Eos)
    "Distant Replay" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's April/May 2007)
    "A Small Room in Koboldtown" by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's April/May 2007; The Dog Said Bow-Wow,Tachyon Publications)

Best Related Book

    The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community by Diana Glyer; appendix by David Bratman (Kent State University Press)
    Breakfast in the Ruins: Science Fiction in the Last Millennium by Barry Malzberg (Baen)
    Emshwiller: Infinity x Two by Luis Ortiz, intro. by Carol Emshwiller, fwd. by Alex Eisenstien (Nonstop)
    Brave New Words: the Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction by Jeff Prucher (Oxford University Press)
    The Arrival by Shaun Tan (Arthur A. Levine/Scholastic)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

    Enchanted Written by Bill Kelly, Directed by Kevin Lima (Walt Disney Pictures)
    The Golden Compass Written by Chris Weitz, Based on the novel by Philip Pullman, Directed by Chris Weitz (New Line Cinema)
    Heroes, Season 1, Created by Tim Kring (NBC Universal Television and Tailwind Productions Written by Tim Kring, Jeph Loeb, Bryan Fuller, Michael Green, Natalie Chaidez, Jesse Alexander, Adam Armus, Aron Eli Coleite, Joe Pokaski, Christopher Zatta, Chuck Kim, Directed by David Semel, Allan Arkush, Greg Beeman, Ernest R. Dickerson, Paul Shapiro, Donna Deitch, Paul A. Edwards, John Badham, Terrence O'Hara, Jeannot Szwarc, Roxann Dawson, Kevin Bray, Adam Kane
    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Written by Michael Goldenberg, Based on the novel by J.K. Rowling, Directed by David Yates (Warner Bros. Pictures)
    Stardust Written by Jane Goldman & Matthew Vaughn, Based on the novel by Neil Gaiman, Directed by Matthew Vaughn (Paramount Pictures)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

    Battlestar Galactica "Razor" written by Michael Taylor, directed by Félix Enríquez Alcalá and Wayne Rose (Sci Fi Channel) (televised version, not DVD)
    Dr. Who "Blink" written by Stephen Moffat, directed by Hettie Macdonald (BBC)
    Dr. Who "Human Nature" / "Family of Blood" written by Paul Cornell, directed by Charles Palmer (BBC)
    Star Trek New Voyages "World Enough and Time" written by Michael Reaves & Marc Scott Zicree, directed by Marc Scott Zicree (Cawley Entertainment Co. and The Magic Time Co.)
    Torchwood "Captain Jack Harkness" written by Catherine Tregenna, directed by Ashley Way (BBC Wales)

Best Professional Editor, Short Form

    Ellen Datlow (The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror (St. Martin's), Coyote Road (Viking), Inferno (Tor))
    Stanley Schmidt (Analog)
    Jonathan Strahan (The New Space Opera (Eos/HarperCollins), The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume 1 (Night Shade), Eclipse One (NightShade)
    Gordon Van Gelder (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction)

    Sheila Williams (Asimov's Science Fiction)

Best Professional Editor, Long Form

    Lou Anders (Pyr)
    Ginjer Buchanan (Ace/Roc)
    David G. Hartwell (Tor/Forge)
    Beth Meacham (Tor)
    Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor)

Best Professional Artist

Best Semiprozine

    Ansible edited by David Langford
    Helix edited by William Sanders and Lawrence Watt-Evans
    Interzone edited by Andy Cox
    Locus edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, & Liza Groen Trombi
    The New York Review of Science Fiction, edited by Kathryn Cramer, Kristine Dikeman, David Hartwell & Kevin J. Maroney

Best Fanzine

    Argentus edited by Steven H Silver
    Challenger edited by Guy Lillian III
    Drink Tank edited by Chris Garcia
    File 770 edited by Mike Glyer
    PLOKTA edited by Alison Scott, Steve Davies, & Mike Scott

Best Fan Writer

    Chris Garcia
    David Langford
    Cheryl Morgan
    John Scalzi
    Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist

    Brad Foster
    Teddy Harvia
    Sue Mason
    Steve Stiles
    Taral Wayne

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Science Fiction Writer

    An award for the best new writer whose first work of science fiction or fantasy appeared during 2006 or 2007 in a professional publication. Sponsored by Dell Magazines.

    Joe Abercrombie (2nd year of eligibility)
    Jon Armstrong (1st year of eligibility)
    David Anthony Durham (1st year of eligibility)
    David Louis Edelman (2nd year of eligibility)
    Mary Robinette Kowal (2nd year of eligibility)
    Scott Lynch (2nd year of eligibility)

Return to Index

We're interested in your feedback. Just fill out the form below and we'll add your comments as soon as we can look them over. Due to the number of SPAM containing links, any comments containing links will be filtered out by our system. Please do not include links in your message.

© 2002-2018SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make SFRevu possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2018SFRevu